5. The written word

You can listen here:

I recently did a consultation session with a woman who wanted to launch an online course. We ran through structure and marketing and lots of other things and then she said: but how do you actually write the content?

As a writer, I don’t find that part hard but I appreciate that for others, it can feel quite daunting. So here are my quick tips for copywriting…

1. Keep the copy simple – again, you need to go back to basics; assume your course participants know nothing or very little about this subject. Don’t worry about being patronising; if there’s info in there they already know, they can skim over it. Avoid all jargon and write acronyms out in full, in case they’re not familiar with what they stand for.
  2. Paragraphs should be short – when writing for online, as you are with your online course, paragraphs should be around three/four lines. It can be hard reading a screen so breaking the text up into short paragraphs will help in terms of focus.
  3. Does asking questions help? – yes, it does. It changes the tone and encourages them to access a different part of their brain. Digesting information is different to conjuring information. When you ask a question, you’re getting them to do the latter.
  4. Draft. Edit. Draft. Edit. – once you have your modules down, decide on the topics. Make some bullet points about what to include. Write it up, put it in situ. And then read and re-read. Add to it. Take unnecessary bits out. Avoid repetition. Edit until it’s just right.
  5. Proofread. Proofread. Proofread. – I can’t tell you how many people submit copy with errors. Probably 90% of the writing I’m sent has typos, spelling mistakes and grammatical errors. Some of the most common ones are:
  • Capitalisation where there shouldn’t be. Job titles are lower case, always. So is ‘mums’, unless referring to your own mum and and talking about Mum’s special dish, for example.