1. What one-to-one package(s) are you offering?

You can listen here:

You might want to take on 10 clients in one go – to free you up from hustling for a couple of months, and enable you to just focus on the actual one-to-one sessions. Or perhaps you’d like three clients a month. Maybe you have rolling availability. This module will help you to get clear on what you want, how to package it up attractively and the logistics. We’ll also cover pricing.

After my book The Freelance Mum was published, I started getting a lot of requests for consultancy.

It felt great that people wanted my support – and, by the way, they were almost all ‘freelance mums’ themselves (back to the importance of having a ‘niche’) – but I wasn’t sure how I could help them.

What I mean is that I am a writer first and a consultant second. So I had to work out what kind of consultancy I would like to offer; that worked well for me.

So firstly, I’ll talk about some different packages I’ve offered – what’s worked, what hasn’t. And then I’ll offer ideas for how you might package up your services.

Phone consultancy

I tried offering phone consultancy. But it felt limiting. I had to be available at a specific time for that phone-call and to ‘perform’ on the spot.

I’m a planner. And a writer. So I prefer to be presented with a challenge or question and to think it through before I respond.

I soon realised that my consultancy needed to be through the written word.

That could be emails or Facebook groups.

And this suits other women who are working around caring responsibilities.

So it’s worth checking in – doing some research – to see what your ‘ideal client’ would prefer: phone or email/Facebook group.

Others offer Whatsapp and Facebook Messenger – not for me, as I prefer to keep those channels for ‘private life’ rather than ‘work-life’ but I’ll run through them in case you like the sound of it.